Last week I wrote about a new website named Top Conservatives on Twitter or TCOT for short.

At that time I complained about the way the site ranked twitter users who registered on the site.

Since then I have been conducting my own experiment to see how much I could improve my rank by adding followers.

I am pleased to report that I managed to take my ranking from its worst at 101 to one below 70.  The site updates the rankings every few hours so any ranking that I use will change multiple times during the day.

While I would like to stay there or even better improve my ranking, it will take a lot of work.  To boost my initial ranking I followed almost everyone ranked regardless of whether or not I was truly interested in their tweets or not.  This resulted in my follower number going from about 520 to over 800 by Sunday evening.  That’s a pretty good growth rate but it took a lot of time as the TCOT list on Saturday was about 530 or so names.  As of this morning it’s almost 850.

I would try and add many of those 300 or so new people to the list but since there is no list that I am aware of of recent additions to the list I would have to review almost all the names again to find the new adds.

Now after a weekend of furiously following people and adding followers in return, I find myself wondering how much more time I should spend in adding followers so that I won’t lose any ground to others or to improve my rankings.

Plus I still have a problem with being ranked solely on the number of followers.  One of the purposes of  TCOT is to build a community.  Well how do you build a community if you are only ranked on followers but not the tweets which is how you communicate with one another?

My solution although it is far from perfect would be to award points for the number of followers and tweets and the combined score would then be ranked.  For example, one of the people ranked ahead of me has 969 followers but just 760 tweets.  To me that tells me he isn’t very active on twitter and therefore deserves a lower ranking.  So if we were to award 2 points per follower and 1 point per tweet he would 2,698 points.  My score in comparison would be 3,768 because I send several tweets a day.

In my mind a list like the TCOT is a very useful tool, but it also gives the impression that the higher the ranking the more important or influential a person is which is not the case.

For now it’s what we have and I can always brag that I am ranked higher than G. Gordon Liddy (167).

