Last night’s presidential debate between Mitt Romney and Barack Obama set a new record topping the previous record set during the Democratic National Convention thanks in part to Big Bird.

According to the Twitter Government team, Romney’s mention of Big Bird and  cutting subsidies to PBS generated 17,000 tweets per second while tweets about PBS clocked in at 10,000 tweets per second.

According to Twitter, the debates generated 10.3 million tweets, topping the 9.5 million tweets issues during the Democratic National Convention in early September.

I knew something was up when I saw my twitter feed appearing on my computer at lightning speed, making it hard to keep up with those that I follow.

The next debate will be between Paul Ryan and Joe Biden and should attract a significant amount of attention, but it will be hard pressed to top last night’s figures.

